Slow progress…

I am sorry for neglecting you this week. It seems to have taken ages to recover from the Newcastle MRS exhibition of last weekend. Re-ordering stocks, doing paperwork and all that stuff. Nonetheless, it was an enjoyable show, despite the rubbish venue, a dirty council-run sports hall – Gateshead council should be ashamed of itself for such poor management and cleanliness of its facilities. What do we all pay such huge levels of tax for in the UK? Not for better services, so it seems.

Anyway, D&E layouts included EM gauge Canada Road and Andi Dell’s OO gauge Dagworth. I went spotting for the Great Eastern’s equivalent of the 4-Cep EMU: the Class 309. Andi obliged by running his 4mm scale models which were much appreciated. There’s something about BR Mk.1 Express EMUs from the former Southern region and the GE which has never been matched by modern power door stock, not even the BR MK.3 EMU coach profile.

Anyway, it has been notable how the number of visits to my new blog site has grown – thank you for calling by. Particular interest areas beyond my layout project include the new DRS service to and from Inverness. It started with Class 66, No.66 415. The closest I can find to it is Bachmann’s OO gauge ‘low emission’ Class 66 in DRS colours as 66 412:new-out999_997I am wondering if I will have work for this loco on my future layouts. Even so, it’s an attractive-looking model and one I plan to keep.

Digging around in my archives, I found these images. Any guesses as to where this is?

img_2484
This picture may help…gives it away!

img_2482

Demolition of the old carriage cleaning depot at Inverness to make way for the DRS terminal. Hard to believe when I took that picture that it would become what it has in such a short time. I understand that ground conditions were challenging for the contractor – when running a reach stacker, that could be crucial.

Finally, when away at shows with either my layout or Nairnshire Modelling Supplies, my in-laws look after the cats which know how to ambush them at the side door to make an escape into the garden. Of course, our two youngest are the worst culprits:

img_3158
It-girl of the cat world is Sophie. Very happy to pose in front of a camera.

img_3163
Sophie again – very cute. The smallest cat I have ever had the privilege to share my home with.

img_3185
Katie is big sister and when we collected them from the SSPCA shelter in Inverness at 12 weeks old, Katie had taken control of their destiny, looking after Sophie who was just a little scrap of fur.  It was Katie that checked Sarah and myself out and decided: They’ll do.  There is a touch of Siamese in them both, shows more in Katie than Sophie. Katie,  who is exceptionally intelligent, exceptionally naughty and very very chatty, still looks out for her smaller sister. We love them both despite the performances and the two older cats, Foxy and Miss Nibbles have happily let them move in. The only problem comes from competition for the mats in front of the wood burning stove we have in the living room!

Leave a Reply

