The pleasure of photographing Rhyd once again.

Rhyd3OMWB

Rhyd, the creation of master railway modeller David John, has to be one of my favourite layouts. I never tire of photographing it and this session, for Hornby Magazine, produced enough quality RAW images from which 46 publishable high resolution photographs were distilled – about 20 more than is really necessary for a full-blown magazine feature. Here’s a small selection of the overflow – images: No.s 41 to 47!

Rhyd7OMWB

Rhyd6-OMWB

Rhyd5OMWB

Rhyd4OMWB

Rhyd2OMWB

Rhyd1OMWB

Is it strange that the layouts that most inspire me have little to do with my particular sphere of interest? Rhyd is 7mm scale Welsh narrow gauge running on analogue control – no fancy lighting or digital sound, just great-looking modelling.

Another layout which always draws me whenever I know it is at a show is Pempoul. I have never photographed it, so have no images to post here. The layout (built and exhibited by Gordon and Maggie Gravett) is everything I do not model – French steam, metre gauge and to 1:50 scale – brilliantly modelled and with that all-important feel of normal life – no whistles and bells on this layout to distract you either and indeed, it does not need them.

As if all that fine modelling on Rhyd was not enough; together with its beautifully finished back scene, proscenium arch and presentation, there’s an extension under construction which will represent the next station on the line which looks fabulous already. I look forward to pointing my camera at it in due course!

Comments are closed.

