A Political Journey (Saying Sorry)

This wonderfully honest story by Elizabeth encapsulates the political journey that many are making in Scotland – things have changed so much for so many since September 2014. I feel sorry for voters in England who seek an alternative to the mainstream parties but find they have no real choice. In Scotland, we do.

Fig and Pen

Here’s a confession: I used to really dislike the SNP.  I’d go so far as to say I actively disliked them. Were my reasons valid? I’m not sure. I voted against Scottish independence in 2014 because I didn’t find the SNP’s case to be credible, and I believed Scotland would be out of the EU if we left the UK. 

From my perspective, the 2014 referendum was exhausting. For those of us on the No side, there were no marches, no gatherings, no messages of togetherness or hope. For us there was nothing but negative news (‘project fear’) and a really uneasy feeling in the gut that we were voting against fear instead of voting for hope.

As I’ve said many times, there was no joy in saying no, and I felt low for months afterwards – which is part of what caused me to dislike the SNP. I held them responsible for my…

View original post 1,026 more words

Comments are closed.

